Find Posts By Topic

Seattle Parks and Recreation seeks nominations for annual volunteer stewardship awards

Seattle Parks and Recreation (SPR) is seeking nominations for the Denny Awards, which honor extraordinary volunteer service to the city’s parks and recreation system. The deadline for nominations is October 22, 2018. The electronic nomination form is available here.
The awards will be presented at a recognition ceremony to be held from 6:00 to 8:30 p.m. on Tuesday, December 4, 2018 in the Side Gallery at the Museum of Flight, 9404 E Marginal Way S, Seattle, WA 98108.
The Denny Awards acknowledge and honor the crucial role volunteers play in supporting neighborhood parks, community centers and recreation programs throughout Seattle. The awards reflect the early commitment by the Denny family to the preservation of parkland and open space for public use and enjoyment. David T. and Louisa Denny donated land that became the first Seattle park, Denny Park, in 1884.
“Volunteers play a crucial role in helping us achieve our goals of supporting healthy people, a healthy environment, and strong communities,” said Interim Superintendent Christopher Williams. “Our volunteers help us plant the trees we need to live up to our Emerald City name; support a variety of community events that encourage people to connect to each other; volunteer as coaches, helping young people stay active, and provide countless other services that allow us to have one of the finest parks and recreation systems in the nation.”
Denny Awards nominees should:
  • demonstrate exceptional stewardship of parks and/or recreation;
  • have given a significant commitment of time;
  • provide stellar leadership by supporting SPR’s goals to extend Race and Social Justice, and support Healthy People, a Healthy Environment, and Strong Communities.
In 2017, 36,198 people volunteered for SPR, providing 196,448 hours of service, which is a donation valued by Independent Sector for Washington State at $30.46 per hour or $5,983,806 in 2017..
For additional information, please contact Adrienne Caver-Hall at 206-733-9703, or A list of past award winners is available here.